Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Why not also try?

Oral health promotion

Health and Science

Applies to:All
Print page
Last reviewed:
PDF this page
Last updated:
Add to BDA bookmarks

The primary role of the BDA Health and Science Committee is to develop evidence-based policies on key scientific issues related to dentistry. The Committee deals with topics such as mercury in amalgam, oral cancer, fluoridation, infection control and many others.

The Committee currently includes members whose expertise ranges from political issues such as the regulation of dentistry and oral health promotion to clinical issues such as cross infection control, orthodontics and restorative dentistry.

The current Chair is Dr Graham Stokes.

Other members of the Committee are as follows:

Professor Avijit Banerjee
Dr Kris Coomaraswamy
Dr Nick Lewis
Dr Nikolaus Palmer
Dr Peter Thornley
Professor Damien Walmsley
Professor Timothy Watson
Professor Nairn Wilson

Cochrane Collaboration

The Committee also has a representative from the Cochrane Collaboration, Professor Helen Worthington. For details of Cochrane reviews and further information about the Cochrane Collaboration please see their website


The next Committee meetings will take place on 10 July 2013 and 11 December 2013 at BDA London. For further details please contact Arianne Matlin.