Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Central Committee for Dental Academic Staff

The Central Committee for Dental Academic Staff (CCDAS) is a Committee of the BDA elected by members and meets bi-annually. 

The Committee is comprised of academics, both dental and basic scientific and receiving input from colleagues in other branches of the profession.

CCDAS is concerned with evaluating and taking leadership on issues relating to and affecting Dental Academics. 

Our members are at the fulcrum of policies concerning both higher education and the NHS and seek to respond in a positive manner to the challenges raised.

University Dental Teachers are clinical academic staff who are university employees holding an honorary NHS contract.

They are thus affected by many policies covering both higher education and the NHS.

GIMcC.jpgChair: ​Dr Giles McCracken, Clinical Senior Lecturer & Consultant in ​Restorative Dentistry at Newcastle University


The Committee

A list of all committee members is available here.

The Committee currently has the following vacancies requiring representation:

School Representatives for: 

  • University of Belfast 
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Sheffield
  • UCL Eastman 

Contact details

If you would like further information regarding CCDAS please contact the Committee Secretary, Ian Oakley.


20080503 - CCDAS         Constitution (27.72 KB)ACCEA Advice                (172.2 KB)