Meeting dates 2018 

8 March 2018 at the BDA Scotland office

11 October 2018 at the BDA Scotland office

Scottish Committee for Hospital Dental Services


Provide a channel of communication between hospital dental staff and those who negotiate their terms and conditions of service.

Advise health boards and the Scottish Executive Health Department on matters relating to the provision of efficient hospital dental services in Scotland.

To liaise with and send representatives to the Central Committee for Hospital Dental Services, the Scottish Council of the British Dental Association, the BMA Scottish Consultants Committee, the BMA Scottish Joint Consultants Committee and the Staff and Associate Specialists Committee of the BMA.

Committee Members 2015 - 2017:

Consultants in each of the 4 geographical areas

Manar Elkhazindar (CHAIR)
Highland, Western Isles, Grampian, Orkney and Shetland

Vacant seat

Paul Sharma
Fife, Lothian and Borders 

David Morrant
Laura Cross
Greater Glasgow and Clyde, Lanarkshire, Forth Valley, Ayrshire & Arran, Dumfries & Galloway

Consultant or Specialist Representative appointed by each of the Scottish Universities

Aberdeen: Richard Ibbetson   
Edinburgh: Nick Malden
Dundee: Pauline Maillou
Glasgow: vacant seat

Representative of Consultants in Dental Public Health based in Scotland

Albert Yeung, Bothwell

Representative of Training Grade (appointed on a rotational basis)

Dundee: Colin Levey

Consultant or Specialist Representative appointed by each of the Royal Colleges Granting Diplomas in Dental Surgery

Glasgow: Andrew Pye
Edinburgh: Sarah Manton (VICE-CHAIR)

Representative from the Staff and Associate Specialist and Specialty Doctors

John Hoayun

Observer appointed by the BMA Scottish Consultants Committee (non-voting member)

Rory Morrison

Observer appointed by the BMA Scottish Staff and Associate Specialist Committee (non-voting member)

Lynne Meekison

Principal Executive Committee Members

Mick Armstrong, Chair of the PEC
Eddie Crouch, Deputy-Chair of the PEC