Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Education, Ethics and the Dental Team

The Education, Ethics and the Dental Team (EE&DT) Working Group is a sub-committee of the BDA’s Board, tasked with advising on all issues relevant to the education, training and professional standards of dentists and the dental team.

What does the Working Group do?

Our remit is wide and covers all fields of practice in dentistry. Arrangements for dental foundation training, dental core training and specialty training are constant topics for the EE&DT Working Group and support for the pan-professional human factors work also sits within our activities.


A major focus is, of course, workforce issues, and we ensure our representatives participate on outside working groups or stakeholder meetings (for example the GDC and Health Education England) to help influence the agenda.


We lead on the BDA's work on tackling stress and improving wellbeing in dentistry; a key focus for our group is to ensure better working lives for dentists and dental team members.


Recent work has included:

  • The impact of COVID-19 on dental undergraduate and postgraduate education
  • The impact of Health Education England's 'Advancing Dental Care' project on dental training and future careers
  • Monitoring the General Dental Council's activities and, particularly, its work on potential payments by instalments of the Annual Retention Fee, to make it less financially onerous for dentists
  • Scope of practice, preparedness for practice, and professionalism

Our Working Group meets three times a year, usually around February, June and October. Matters are also considered by email or online meeting as appropriate, if required.


Meet the members

Our membership includes BDA Board members, Chairs of the BDA’s craft committees, members of the Students and Young Dentists committees and a lay person.

PEC members

  • Shareena Ilyas (Chair)
  • Mick Armstrong
  • Mark Bishop
  • Laura Cross
  • John Edwards
  • Nigel Jones
  • Paul Woodhouse
  • Eddie Crouch (ex officio)
  • Peter Crooks (ex officio)

BDA President

  • Russ Ladwa

Chairs of BDA craft committees (or their nominees)

  • Academic Reference Group: Giles McCracken
  • Central Committee for Hospital Dental Services: Peter Dyer
  • England Community Dental Services Committee: Charlotte Waite
  • General Dental Practice Committee: David Cottam and Shiv Pabary

Students and young dentists representatives

  • Students Committee: Rebecca Thompson and Sinchana Lakshmish 
  • Young Dentists Committee: Amaar Hassan and Mohammed Ismael 

BDA mental health and wellbeing lead

  • Roz McMullan

Lay member

  • Nikki Renken

BDA Indemnity representative

  • Jane Merivale

More information

For further information, please contact the committee secretariat on 020 7563 4133 or email Ulrike Matthesius