Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Scottish Committee for Hospital Dental Services

Due to a lack of nominations received for seats on the BDA Scottish Committee for Hospital Dental Services in the 2017 triennial election process, the BDA has set up a Reference Group which will replace SCHDS for the foreseeable future.

Group members will share attendance at BMA Scotland meetings and meetings of CCHDS.  Members will provide written reports which will be circulated to hospital dentists in Scotland and BDA Scottish Council about twice a year.

SCHDS has developed a Policy Document detailing its key policies and priorities. The document will be formally revised and reviewed on an annual basis as new issues emerge throughout each triennium. 

NHS Circular: PCS(DD)2018/2

NHS Pay Circular PCS(DD)2018/2 issued by Scottish Government on 5 September 2018 detailing the changes in the pay and national terms of service of all NHS employed staff. 

Meeting Dates 2019

Meetings for 2019 to be arranged.  

Meet the SHDRG members

The SHDRG members for 2018-2020 are:

Highland, Western Isles, Grampian, Orkney & Shetland

Manar Elkhazindar, Inverness

Greater Glasgow & Clyde, Lanarkshire, Forth Valley, Ayrshire & Arran, Dumfries & Galloway

Laura Cross, Consultant in Restorative Dentistry, Glasgow

Representative of Scottish Staff, Associate Specialist and Specialty Doctors

John Hoayun, Specialty Dentist, Fife

Representative of Training Grade

Colin Levey, Specialty Registrar, Fife

SCHDS Constitution

To provide a channel of communication between hospital dental staff and those who negotiate their terms and conditions of service.

To advise NHS Boards and the Scottish Government Directorate for Population Health on matters relating to the provision of hospital dental services in Scotland.

To liaise with, and send representatives, to the Central Committee for Hospital Dental Services and the Scottish Council of the British Dental Association.

Voting Members
The following elected representatives of health service consultants.

One representative from Highland, Western Isles, Grampian, Orkney and Shetland; one representative from Tayside; two representatives from Fife, Lothian and Borders and two representatives from Greater Glasgow and Clyde, Lanarkshire, Forth Valley, Ayrshire & Arran, Dumfries & Galloway.

One nominated representative from the Consultants in Dental Public Health who is based in Scotland.
One Consultant or Specialist nominated by each of the Royal Colleges (Edinburgh and Glasgow) granting diplomas in dental surgery.

One nominated representative of the training grade to be chosen, on a rotational basis, by the training grade staff associations in Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh and Glasgow.

One nominated representative of Staff, Associate Specialist and Specialty Doctors'.

Non-Voting Members
The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Principal Executive Committee.

One observer nominated by the British Medical Association (BMA) for Hospital Medical Services
One observer nominated by the BMA Staff, Associate Specialist and Specialty Doctors' Committee.
Up to two co-opted members as and when required.

Should an SCHDS member not attend for two consecutive meetings, taking into account the individual circumstances of the member, it will be at the discretion of the committee whether the member will continue to be an SCHDS member.

Six voting members

Get in touch

For more information, please get in touch with the committee Secretary Elaine Bruce.