Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Public Health

Dentists working in Public Heath, for Public Health England and for local authorities, are supported and represented through the BDA’s Dental Public Health Committee.​

The Dental Public Health Committee (DPHC) is an autonomous committee of the BDA and is concerned with all matters that affect those dentists who work in public health in the UK. Public Health dentists from Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are represented on the committee.

The Chair of the DPHC is Dr Anna Ireland and the Secretary of the DPHC is Ian Oakley. The work of the Committee is supported by the BDA’s employment relation team and the Committee works with other organisations to promote and protect the rights and interests of public health dentists.​



Dr Anna Ireland, Chair of the DPHC


​Members of the Committee

Consultant (England-South)

Anna Ireland

Consultant (England-North)

Kamini Shah

Consultant (England-London)

Desmond Wright

Desmond Wright.jpg

Consultant (England-Eastern)

Linda Hillman

Linda Hillman.JPG

Consultant (Northern Ireland)

Michael Donaldson

Consultant (Scotland)

Albert Yeung


Consultant (Wales)

Nigel Monaghan

DPH Academic UK

Elizabeth Kay