Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

England Community Dental Services Committee

The England Community Dental Services Committee (ECDSC) is a craft committee of the BDA. It is concerned with all matters that affect those dentists in England who work within salaried primary dental care and salaried Personal Dental Service.



SDC were obviously unhappy at the pay award offered by the Department of Health. Support was given to the letter to be sent by the Chair of PEC on behalf of all employed dentists to the Secretary of State expressing significant consternation at the award.

In light of the significant criticism of the offer expressed at the Committee the Chair asked members whether they would countenance industrial action. As he had suspected and previously advised PEC there was no support for this. Members did however request that the BDA seek to liaise with other NHS Trades Unions in an attempt to present a united front.

Members also discussed the notion that the Department of Health may be willing to provide a consolidated rise if incremental pay rises were abandoned. The Committee were unanimous that incremental pay-progression was a fundamental aspect of the SPDCS contract and would not support any retreat from such.


Salaried pilots​

All three salaried pilot sites have now been commissioned. Reports from the two sites present at the meeting highlighted ongoing issues surrounding the usability of the IT package, with a number of parent/carer complaints as patients grew increasingly anxious and or agitated as data was collected. It was also thought that 49 questions concerning medical history and 13 regarding social history may prove too burdensome for many SPDCS patients or their carers. However, it was also thought that the pathway approach offered the prospect of significant improvements in care for many SPDCS patients.

Clinical Leadership

Clinical leadership was again discussed at length by SDC following involved debate at the January Executive. The unique nature of the SPDCS Clinical Director within the NHS was again remarked on and members were asked to consider whether sufficient evidence could be provided that the SPDCS is in need of such unique leadership. Whilst the triennial medical leadership model is known and appreciated in the wider NHS it is doubtful that services would have sufficient leaders or potential leaders to ensure a working rotation of leaders. The Committee has proceeded to determining the competencies required for successful SPDCS leadership.



The Committee consists of clinician and clinical director representatives drawn from ten groupings of Area Teams. in England. Members are elected to the Committee following a ballot of their peers within that grouping and subsequently serve for a period of three years.



The Chair of ECDSC is Charlotte Waite a Senior Dental Officer from Nottinghamshire. ​​

The Vice Chair is Judith Wright a Clinical Director from west Yorkshire.


ECDSC is keen to ensure that its agenda reflects the contemporary issues facing those working in Salaried Primary Dental Care If you have an issue that you believe ECDSC ​should consider please contact the Committee Secretary below.


The following were elected from the named constituencies to be members of the ECDSC 2018-2021:

Devon, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, Bristol, Somerset and South Gloucestershire, Bath, Gloucestershire, Swindon and Wiltshire Area Teams

Robin Martin


Thames Valley, Wessex Area Teams

Mark Taylor

Denise Mattin


Surrey and Sussex, Kent and Medway Area Teams

Agi Tarnowski

Mark Johnstone


North East, North West and South London Area Teams

Giten Dabhi

Maynaha Indrakumar


Essex, East Anglia, Hertfordshire and the South Midlands Area Teams

Rachel Griffiths

Ranji Kulasegaram

Michael Cranfield


Arden, Herefordshire and Worcestershire, Birmingham and the Black Country, Shropshire and Staffordshire Area Teams

Fiona McLean


Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire and Lincolnshire Area Teams

Jancy Pope

Charlotte Waite

Christine Utting 


South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw, West Yorkshire, North Yorkshire and the Humber Area Teams

Helen Woodruff
Balqees Bi

Judith Wright


Durham, Darlington and Tees, Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear Area Teams

Stephen Tanser 
Emma Gill


Cheshire, Warrington and Wirral, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Lancashire Area Teams

Christine Arnold

Hannah Walsh

Heather Pope

Date of the Next Meeting


Contact details

If you would like further information regarding ECDSC please contact the Committee Secretary, Stephen Skelton on 020 7563 4141.