Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

BDA Health and Science Committee

The BDA's Health and Science Committee develops evidence-based policies on key scientific issues related to dentistry. 

We deal with topics such as mercury in amalgam, oral cancer, fluoridation, infection control, and many others.
Our members' expertise ranges from political issues such as the regulation of dentistry and oral health promotion, to clinical issues such as cross infection control, orthodontics and restorative dentistry.

The current Chair is Dr Russ Ladwa.
Other members of the Committee are as follows:

Professor Avijit Banerjee
Dr Kris Coomaraswamy

Professor Liz Kay
Dr Nick Lewis
Dr Nikolaus Palmer 

Dr Peter Thornley
Professor Damien Walmsley 
Professor Timothy Watson
Professor Nairn Wilson

Cochrane Collaboration

The Committee includes a representative from the Cochrane Collaboration, Professor Helen Worthington. For more details on their work, visit the Cochrane website.

Keep up-to-date

To keep up-to-date with the BDA's work on a wide range of topics, please ensure we have your correct email address (you can update via the My BDA section) to receive our monthly e-newsletter and e-alerts. Or call our membership team to update your details on 020 7563 4550.

You can follow the @BDA on Twitter for latest news updates.

Read blogs from our members on BDA Connect or have your say on the forum (login required for access to the forums)

Contact us

If you would like further information about the work of the Health and Science Committee, contact Arianne Matlin.

Page last updated: 19 July 2016