Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Scottish Council

The Scottish Coucil advises the BDA's Principal Executive Committee (PEC) on all matters relating to dentistry in Scotland, and liaises with BDA branches and sections. Scottish Council aims to be the voice of BDA members to the PEC.

What does the Scottish Council do?

Meeting dates 2019

  • 21 March 2019 at the BDA Scotland office
  • 15 August 2019 at the BDA Scotland office
  • 12 December 2019 at the BDA Scotland office

Who are the Scottish Council representatives?

The Scottish Council members for 2018-2020 are:

East Branch representatives

Nick Baker, Edinburgh
Colwyn Jones, Edinburgh

North Branch representatives

Robert Donald, Nairn, Chair of Scottish Council
Carly Fraser, Aberdeen

West Branch representatives

David Cross, Glasgow, Vice-Chair of Scottish Council
Robin MacDougall, Glasgow

Scottish Dental Practice Committee representatives

David McColl, Glasgow, Chair
Gerard Boyle, Glasgow, Vice-Chair
John Glen, Cowdenbeath

Scottish Hospital Dentists Reference Group

Manar Elkhazindar, Inverness
Laura Cross, Glasgow

SPDSC Representatives

Graham Smith, Isle of Syke, Chair
Kate Wiseman, Glasgow. Vice-Chair

Clinical Academic Reference Group

Simon Shepherd, Dundee Dental School

Representative of Scottish Staff, Associate Specialist and Specialty Doctors

John Hoayun

Young Dentist Committee Representative

Hamzah Ahmed

One member of the Principal Executive Committee elected by members in Scotland

Derek Harper, Kirkcaldy

Principal Executive Committee Members

Mick Armstong, Chair of the PEC
Eddie Crouch, Deputy Chair of the PEC

Get in touch

For more information, please get in touch with the committee Secretary Elaine Bruce.

BDA Scotland

BDA Scotland supports, represents and promotes, the interests of all dentists working in Scotland. Working with elected committee members, we negotiate on behalf of the profession on terms and conditions, and pay and contracts. Join us.