Education, Ethics and the Dental Team

The Education, Ethics and the Dental Team Working Group is a PEC sub-committee with the remit to consider and advise on all matters appertaining to the education, training and professionalism of dentists and the dental team, and to the maintenance and raising of professional standards.


The remit of this working group is wide and touches all spheres of practice. Its membership consists of PEC members, chairs of the craft committees, Student and Young Dentists Committees, and a lay member. The current members are:

PEC members
  • Russ Ladwa
  • Nigel Jones
  • Paul Woodhouse
  • Mick Armstrong (Interim Chair) 
  • ​​​Eddie Crouch (ex officio)

Chairs of craft committees (or their nominees)
  • Henrik Overgaard-Nielsen (GDPC) and Ruby Austin
  • Michael Cranfield (ECDSC)
  • Giles McCracken (CCDAS)
  • Peter Dyer (CCHDS)
Student and young dentist representatives
  • Ronan O'Flynn (YDC)
  • Parnyan Ashtari (Students Committee)
Lay member
  • Nikki Renken

Recent work 

Recent work has included advising the PEC on GDC underperformance issues, new rules on language check, introduction of case examiners, satisfactory completion of dental foundation training, and general standards issues. The group also contributes to the work of the Dental Advisory Group of Health Education England (HEE) in relation to training and workforce issues, and to any regulatory initiatives affecting dentistry.

For further information, please contact the committee secretariat on 020 7563 4133 or email Ulrike Matthesius.


Meetings of the group are planned for June and October/November 2016; the latest meeting was in February 2016. The group also considers matters by email and telephone conference as necessary.