Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Ethics Committee

Applies to:All
Print page
Last reviewed:
PDF this page
Last updated:
Add to BDA bookmarks

The Ethics Committee’s main role is to advise the Association on standards and professional ethics. It meets twice a year to examine issues in dentistry from an ethical point of view and develop advice to members. It also monitors regulatory developments and comments on their ethical implications. 

The committee is chaired by Representative Body Chair, Stuart Johnston. Other members are Russell Bennett,  Shelagh Farrell, Martin Fulford, Philip Henderson, Nazli Imtiaz, Nigel Jones, and Gordon Thomson, all elected by the Representative Body. Susie Sanderson attends as the Chair of the Executive Board. The Committee also includes two lay members, one of which is Nikki Renken. The second post is currently vacant.

For more information, please contact the committee secretary, Ulrike Matthesius, on