Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

​Dentistry recognised in the New Year's Honours List 2018

4 January 2017

Dentistry has been recognised in the 2018 New Year's Honours List, with six leading lights of the profession being awarded honours.

Professor Jeremy Bagg of Glasgow Dental School is awarded Officer of the British Empire (OBE), for his services to Dental Education.

John Bernard Roger Matthews, Trustee of the charity Heart Your Smile, and former chief dental officer of Denplan, is awarded Member of the British Empire (MBE) for services to Dentistry.

Wendy Jane Smith Community Engagement Strategic Lead, Peninsula School of Dentistry is also awarded MBE for her services Oral Healthcare and Dental Education in the South West.

Young Welsh dentist Yasmin Allen, Health Education England Clinical Fellow, is awarded the British Empire Medal (BEM) for services to Oral Health. Yasmin was also earlier this year awarded second place by the British Dental Editors and Writers Forum for her innovative work promoting the benefits of utilising digital technology and innovation within dental settings, using emergency dental care as an example.

Gillian Ward Milne, Senior Dental Nurse, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee is awarded the BEM, for her services to Maxillofacial Surgery Patients in Tayside. 

Finally, Dr Chaim Olmer is also awarded the BEM, for his services to Holocaust Education. Dr Olmer was sent to Buchenwald concentration camp in 1942 when he was 15, before being moved to Schleiben and then Theresienstadt, where he was liberated by the Russian army in May 1945. Despite speaking no English when liberated, he qualified as a dentist after arriving in Glasgow in 1945, and went on to serve in the British Army.


Nominate for the BDA's Honours and Awards

BDA Honours and Awards recognise the amazing contributions members make to both to the BDA, serving on committees and being involved at the local level, as well as outstanding commitments to the profession in the national, government and/or international spheres.

We encourage nominations from all areas and stages of dentistry, and we seek to represent the diversity of dentistry today, and ensure the work of inspiring dentists is recognised.

If you know someone who deserves to be recognised for their work, please nominate them.

Applications for this year's round close on 31 May 2018 and nominations for the Joy Harrild Award for Young Dentists closes 30 April 2018.